Little things we love :)

I have written of hardship, I have vented my issues, I have explained genetics and pondered the hard stuff, however, there are some every day things we absolutely adore and can’t imagine living without.

Those little bits and bobs that until we don’t have one, we hardly realise how much we love them.

Let me start with the whimsical πŸ™‚ a word really. That word which shed light on so many dilemmas and saved my bacon too many times to count. The word is “sleeps”. Simple really, isn’t it.

We use it like so: ” It’s 4 sleeps till the weekend” or “Your Birthday is 15 sleeps away” or sometimes, “One sleep, just one and we go to the party”

The day we used sleeps to describe time, it was like the veils had been dropped from all their eyes and comprehension dawned. I like that word, I don’t know how batty I’d be without it.

Then there is this contraption —> vImage

Do you know what it is? Sorry it’s so grotty but it has been used to bits and back again πŸ™‚ This is an Apple peeler. It used to be quite swank, not only peeled your apples but curled them and cored them in one go. When we pull the lever and take the coil back with the handle, stick the apple onto the three prongs and then start to wind it back towards the front, it peels the entire apple in under a minute. Then it’s just a matter of taking it off the prongs, cutting the sides away from the core and the boys can eat an apple without choking on the skin or having trouble even starting to bite in. Oh how we miss this gadget when we are out! All the kids know how to use it so I don’t have to worry about knives and other sharp things. Best of all, I don’t have to do it anymore πŸ™‚
Now, we do have a few more little things we love but I don’t want to bore you to tears and will save some for the next blog.

With love and support,

Tarja Kelly

2 Responses to “Little things we love :)”


  1. 1 Hari Kotrotsios 11/04/2012 at 8:40 pm

    It’s always the simple, little things that make the biggest impact in our lives! And saves so much angst, worry and frustration…


Comments are currently closed.




