Just because….

Just a little warning before I begin, I am not writing this because I need advice or magic remedies. What we are doing is enough and works well. This is simply to give you all an insight of “why”. That is why I called it “Just because…”

I stay away from synthetic clothes and woollen fabrics. All of us wear cotton because it doesn’t itch and works well in all weather conditions. When I toss them all in the wash, I use the tried and true Omo matic sensitive liquid which our family has used for generations. Yes, I did a test run with other things and either they didn’t wash as well or they caused skin reactions on the boys. I will not be changing my detergent 🙂 thank you.

In the rinse goes white vinegar. It takes all the residue out of our clothes and leaves them smelling, well, neutral. When I toss the clothes into the dryer they come out just as fluffy and soft as if I had used a softener on the market. Except, these don’t make the eczema come out. We don’t smell like vinegar but we also don’t smell like flower fresh store-bought people either.

Our bath times are fun and games too. One child at a time, bath emptied and rinsed and on a bad eczema day, disinfected as well, between each child. Yes, I wish I could my girl in for a quick bath and save the water to put all three boys in together. However, that is not possible.

I have my girl in first. She gets shampoo and sometimes bubbles, lucky girl, she has no skin issues. Then, the oldest, he doesn’t like the smell of the bubbles and all those things so he just uses the water and sensitive soap and does the lightning boy wash pre teens are expert at. I don’t mind really, he isn’t a sweaty smelly kid and it really is just to get the dust off from a day’s play.

Eczema kids next, youngest  first. Fresh bath water and a tiny dose of vinegar in it to neutralize the PH and he is screaming the whole time. The quickest wash, he usually stands and I have to tip the water over him gently and fast so we can get him out and dry asap. We pat him dry and cream him up and his skin is weeping clear liquid from every millimeter. Needless to say, we don’t put him through this every night.

Then the middle one, he also screams in pain every time he gets into the bath. The water is not hot, we have it at 34 degrees as they complain it is too hot any other time. He sits but only for a short time too. Arms go in and come back out and we pat him dry and cream him up all the while watching the cream sheet off him from the weeping all over. His baths are not every night either. Traumatic for him and us to say the least.

After their baths they smell… neutral. None of that apple fresh shampoo smell, no berry delicious body wash smell, nothing. Definitely no body odours either! Just clean kids.

Aftershave, well, they are too young for that yet so, no. They don’t use antiperspirants, LOL they have Hypohidrotic Ectodermal Dysplasia, they don’t perspire. The sorbolene we use has no delightful perfume in it as it would leave the boys with a not so delightful rash. Can’t use the goat soap because it is full of nuts and perfume too.

So, in a nutshell, what I am telling you all out there in cyberworld, if you should meet us and wonder why we don’t smell like we have baby-fresh skin and flower-drenched clothes, it’s Just Because!

With Love & Support

Tarja Kelly

3 Responses to “Just because….”


  1. 1 Michele 27/09/2011 at 7:07 am

    Hi Tarja – I have read your fb updates; but I have never really understood the depth of the problem, this is not a condition I have even heard of before; thank you for enlightening me.

    And I promise (cross my heart and all that ..) that I will never, never, ever give you half-baked suggestions on how to treat this, as I gather some people do 🙂 Sounds to me you are doing everything you can, and doing it just fine.

    • 2 tarjakelly 27/09/2011 at 8:26 am

      Hi Michele, Thank you so much ❤ 🙂 I never used to "advertise" what the kids have until I noticed a severe lack of knowledge all round and that is when I decided to put on the education hat. The Toastmasters "program" has helped me so much already, it is very heartening to know that my Toastmasters friends are now also learning about Hypohidrotic Ectodermal Dysplasia and one day, they too will be able to confidently talk about this condition ❤

  2. 3 Yontz 10/03/2014 at 6:46 pm

    It’s a trendy and also very helpful little bit of info. I will be glad you provided this handy data with us. Please keep all of us well informed this way. Thank you revealing.


Comments are currently closed.




