A Very special Guest Blog

by Mandy Compton

 Throughout my life, I have dealt with many physical and emotional struggles with ED. After finding out at 1 ½ years old that I had ED, my parents did everything they could to make my life a bit easier I received my first set of dentures at age two. Obviously getting a 2-year old to wear dentures can be quite a chore.

My grandpa used the best thing he could think of to get me to wear them. In order for me to get a ride in the pillow-stuffed wheelbarrow to the “creek” (that was actually a ditch), I had to wear the dentures. Eventually I got used to wearing them and wore the same set until I was about twelve. After turning thirteen, my parents started looking into dental implants.

The implant process was lengthy and painful, especially since I was required to have a bone graft from my hip for my upper jaw. It’s funny how at the time with my adolescent view, I thought it was the worst and most painful thing in the world.

I almost blamed my parents for the pain.

Looking back now, at age 23, I know the process was necessary and I thank my parents for pushing to get my implants. For me, feeling more complete is worth everything I had to go through. It has helped mold me into the person I am today and has made me more confident.

My high school sweetheart and I were married last July. We have known each other since childhood. A couple months into our high school relationship, I felt like I needed to tell him about my ED and dental implants. It was a very difficult conversation to have at sixteen, but to my amazement, he was not surprised, nor did he act like I was anything less because of it. I have really put myself down through the years about how I look.

Having someone who loves me in spite of all my imperfections is very special. I never could have dreamed someone would look past everything and love me for who I am. I’m sure our focus will at some point be on having children of our own. I can only hope that when that time comes we will be able to make the most informed and best decision.

With everything that has brought me to this point, I can only think that there is a reason I was born with ED and I just haven’t figured it out yet. Let’s put it this way, if we only painted with the colors we’re given, this world would be a dreary place, but some people mix the colors to make their life and the lives of others special.

Life is what you make it, so mix it up to make every day special! Hopefully my story will be an encouragement to at least one person who is going through some tough times with ED.

Thank you so very much for your touching story Mandy. You are an inspiring young lady and I am sure you have eased many a parent’s worries of “Am I doing the right thing for my Child?”

In case I don’t have another opportunity to write before christmas, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas with all your loved ones. See you in the new year.

With love & support,

Tarja Kelly

2 Responses to “A Very special Guest Blog”


  1. 1 Lisa Foster 07/12/2010 at 2:29 pm

    thanks for sharing your story Mandy – I hope to hear more from you in the future – enjoy your Christmas together

  2. 2 Michele 07/12/2010 at 5:56 pm

    I very much enjoyed reading your story Mandy (and it was a love story to boot!). Never forget that you may only look at yourself in the mirror front on, straight faced or forcing a smile. The people who care about you see you as a whole – moving, talking, laughing, interacting, they see the whole beautiful Mandy they love in ways you’ll never be able to!


Comments are currently closed.




