The Birthday cake

Imagine if you will, a cake, so moist, so decadent, so rich and melt in your mouth. A cake you would travel long distances just to get another taste of it. A cake whose recipe had been handed down through generations of mothers/daughters and was a closely guarded secret.

I used to bake this cake, for every birthday in my family as well as my Parent’s. Used to….

My boy, who loved to eat everything, was tested for allergies and two of the main ingredients came up anaphylactic big on his tiny arm.

Well, we had to ditch nuts, eggs and many other things from his diet and because life is hectic enough and I wanted to keep things fair, I cut it from all of us too. Why cook something when you have to tell one child he’s not allowed to eat it and then have something he may not want in front of him instead? That is not right and we haven’t done that. We do have special days where one is not there and then we cook up all the “naughty” things. Spaghetti Bolognese tastes better when one doesn’t have to sit and watch us eat it, that is just too sad.

Then it happened, a Birthday! How could I forget? I went to pull out the usual ingredients, the ones I grew up with, the ones I know off by heart and had to stop. I was no longer allowed to bake this cake for him. My heart fell, the traditions were gone, what was I to do?

My sister came to the rescue with a Vegan Cookbook. She went online and found it at Amazon and immediately ordered it for me.

I found a cake in there, a lovely cake. A cake which was moist, nice chocolate and rather decadent if I do say so myself. It has no milk, no eggs, no butter but it tastes good. I was able to make cupcakes out of this recipe too, the kids at school loved them!

Got you all wondering what it is? Would you like a go at baking it? OK, here you go 🙂 We hope you like it too

Chocolate Cake

 

 

                        220g                                   Flour

                        35  g                        Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

                        186g                        Sugar

                        1tsp                        Baking Powder

                        1/2tsp                        Salt

                        1/3cup                        Sunflower Oil

                        1Tbsp                        Apple Cider Vinegar

                        1tsp                        Vanilla Essence

                        1cup                        Cold Water

 

Preheat oven to 175°C. Lightly oil a 20cm cake pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Add the oil, vinegar, vanilla and cold water and stir together carefully until ‘just mixed’.

Spoon evenly into cake pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife comes out clean. Let cool for 10-15 minutes before removing from pan.

Cool completely before icing.

 

 

Chocolate Icing

 

                        2cups                        Icing Sugar

                        1/2cup                        Nuttlex (margarine)

                        1/4cup                        unsweetened Cocoa Powder

                        2Tbsp                        Rice Milk        

                        1tsp                        Vanilla Essence

 

 

Mix together all the ingredients until smooth. Refrigerate for 30 minutes before use.

Makes approx. 2 cups of icing.

It has been so long now since I baked the traditional cake, I am hard pressed to remember the recipe. This one however, I make it six times a year, I know it verbatim.

With Love & support,

Tarja Kelly

