Land Oyster

My baby boy was happy, bouncing in the baby bouncer. Being a rather cool day, I was able to dress him in a light flannel, long sleeve shirt. Pretty thing it was, blue chest and back and white sleeves.

My mother had kept it from when I was a wee bub and I was excited to have my baby wear it too.

So there we were, enjoying the cool of the day in his bedroom. I was painting, he was gurgling and rocking when I had to leave him for a minute. As I was turning off a light in the kitchen, ready to go back, I heard it.

A little sneeze…”Oh dear”, I thought,” better grab a tissue to go back with”. The little sneeze was followed by two more, rather big ones. I rushed back to him to wipe his nose and have a giggle with him.

I was greeted with a sight not many mothers ever get to see. There was my baby, grin from ear to ear, kicking his feet in glee. Wearing his blue/white shirt and waving his arms at me. I had to check twice, because he had only one white sleeve, the other was now covered in a green slimy goop.

Yes, the first land oyster was born from the depths of our baby’s sinuses. Only later, when he was diagnosed with Hypohidrotic Ectodermal Dysplasia did we find out that the sinuses produce large amounts of “goop” which can be problematic but cleared out with all sorts of gadgets.

There are many products out there to assist with clearing noses but my three have never really taken to them. Each one of my boys has found a way to clear his own nose. One will go under water whenever he can. The other just has to glance at the sun and the third…well, he is still learning. I’ll let you know what he does when I find out.

With love & support,

Tarja Kelly

2 Responses to “Land Oyster”


  1. 1 Renee 24/03/2010 at 8:42 pm

    Hayden has FINALLY found his own way too.. He gets in the shower and with the help of the hot steam he blows his nose as hard as he can and doesn’t get out until he can breathe clearly..

    It was quite a struggle for a while there! And pining him down and manually removing what I could was never a pleasant experience for either of us!!

    • 2 tarjakelly 24/03/2010 at 8:50 pm

      Oh the manual removal…we still have some of them but not as bad anymore. Every day as they grow older and we can learn together is so precious. And we can all still laugh


Comments are currently closed.




